Recipe: Upside-down Pineapple Cake

(IT/EN)

Curaçao is an island with a rich and variegated culinary tradition. During my last trip there I tasted a delicious upside-down pineapple cake at Sjalotte Restaurant. This cake is so juicy and flavorsome and soft that I just loved it. Locals told me that it has become a very popular dish on the island.

 pineapple cake Curaçao Sjalotte

On my way back to London from that trip I stopped by in Italy so met my family. You can imagine my surprise when my mom had ready on the table an upside-down pineapple cake! I hadn’t told her I had tried one and that was pure coincidence!

I admit this taste of sunshine helped a bit the transition from the wonderful tropical island to the rainy London. So I asked Lina to share the recipe, and here it is. It’s very simple and quick and you can hardly make mistakes. So even if you are a beginner, give it a try: I guarantee it will be a success!

Upside-down pineapple cake recipe

 UPSIDE-DOWN PINEAPPLE CAKE

Ingredients (4 people): 3 eggs – 150g sugar – 130g flour – 50g butter – 10 pineapple slices – 1.5 teaspoon of  powder yeast – a quarter of a pint of pineapple juice

Time: 45 min

Upside-down pineapple cake recipe

Preparation: Beat 50g of sugar and the butter and spread the mix over the base of a 20cm round cake tin. Arrange the pineapple slices on the tin, on top of the sugar and butter mix.

Beat 3 egg yolks with 100g sugar and 2 tablespoon of pineapple juice. Add the flour and the yeast and keep mixing. Add the egg whites, previously beaten until foamy and stiff and delicately mix with a wooden spoon, with a constant and gentle movement in order to keep the air bubbles in the egg whites for a softer cake.

Add the mix in the cake tin and cook for 30 min. in a pre-heated oven at 170 °C. Once baked, add the rest of the pineapple juice on top. Wait for the cake to cool down and serve it upside-down.

Buon appetito!

Upside-down pineapple cake recipe

Leave a Reply

